Mermaid Launderette

Mermaid Launderette

"I must be a mermaid, Rango. I have no fear of depths and a great fear of shallow living."

sophia webster3

Growing up, I remember the first two things I wanted to be when I was old enough: a mermaid and a neurosurgeon. I'm not entirely sure how a seven-year-old decides she wants to live underwater and simultaneously practice medicine, but I was determined. After I realized my dreams of being a mermaid were unrealistic, I tossed the idea of neurology as well. In my brain, the two worlds complimented each other, and I would not settle for one without the other.

Since then, I have channeled my love for mermaids and the ocean, in different ways. With a passion for marine life, I have spent countless hours watching documentaries, Ted Talks, and the Discovery Channel to try and learn more about the deep blue sea. When Sophia Webster was dreaming up her Spring/Summer 2016 collection, I think she must have been as well.

When guests entered the venue hosting Webster's show, they were greeted with posters that read "Mermaid Launderette." What was soon to come was a collection that I have deemed my favourite from London Fashion Week this season. The models cast for Webster's show are reminiscent of the mermaids I used to dream about: ethereal creatures in pastel shades of pink, blue, and purple. Her signature quirky accessories, from platform heels to clutches with phrases like "Don't Be Jelly" and "Naughty Cool," stole the show when pared with her designs but also on their own.

The incredible set was dreamed up by Webster and brought to life by set designer Shona Heath with the inspiration being "a celebration of the vibrancy of ocean life."

After taking a gander at this collection, I think that I too (like Anaïs) must be a mermaid after all.

sophia webstersophia webster2sophia webster4sophia webster5sophia webster6sophia webster7sophia webster8sophia webster9sophia webster10{images via LOVE}

One thought on “Mermaid Launderette

  1. What a lovely passage using sparse words. The words and the illustrations ensure we will never look at a washing machine in the same way

    Like

Leave a Reply

