Lost In Reverie’s Festiessentials

How cliché can a blogger get? I know you’ve probably seen a million posts like this already, and I have to admit, I have made a comment or two about how annoying they are, yet here we are now. I think my problem with a lot of the “festival essentials” posts are that the sponsored products in some are so obvious that it takes away and makes it impersonal. As someone who has been attending music festivals since she was fifteen, I’d like to think I know a thing or two about making the most of them. Without further ado, I present Lost In Reverie’s Festiessentials.

festiessentials
{image via Polyvore}

1 Swimsuit

I know that certain music festivals don’t warrant swimwear (Glastonbury, Warped Tour) yet with Coachella starting today; Bestival in June; Bluesfest in July; and Osheaga in August, I’m keeping in mind the sunny summertime festivals. As someone who thrives on spending the summer months outdoors listening to my favourite acts, I like to make sure I look stylish yet am comfortable. The great thing about wearing a swimsuit as opposed to a top is that after the show, you can always go find somewhere to take a dip and cool off. Plus, this Seafolly one-piece would look great paired with the Rag & Bone cut-offs shown in the collage.

2 Comfortable sneakers

At this stage in the game, blisters are second nature to me. I should buy stocks in blister sticks because they’re a huge part of my life yet I hope for others this isn’t the case. Keeping this in mind, a surefire way to get them is by wearing uncomfortable shoes all day at a festival. I promise you that wearing sandals, heels, and even certain boots will have you crying in pain all day long. Don’t make the day just about your appearance and throw on a trusty pair of Converse sneakers so you can dance the night away.

3 Cut-offs

Do I need to explain? Yes? Okay, fine. In the summer months, I live in cut-offs. They’re easy to take from day to night, look great with any top or shoe, and are a classic uniform piece. What better way to enjoy a day of music than knowing you feel comfortable and look cute in your tried and true Rag & Bone jean shorts?

4 Fanny pack

Growing up, my dad always wore a fanny pack. To this day I’m not sure why he chose a fanny pack over a traditional wallet, but it’s a memory that instantly brings a smile to my face. Although he retired the fannypack long ago, fashion has recently jumped on the bandwagon, and for good reason. Fannypacks are the perfect festiessential because it keeps your hands free and everything you need within reach. If you don’t want to look like a geezer, this Alexander Wang pack should do the trick.

5 Reusable water bottle

I hate to sound like a mom but people, please stay hydrated! I’ve heard one too many stories of people dying of dehydration at music festivals and it’s ridiculous because it shouldn’t be an issue. It makes no sense how vendors charge almost $5 for a bottle of WATER when it’s something they should be handing out for free. Recently, festivals have changed this a bit, inventing “free water” zones but I don’t think that cut’s it. To save yourself money and a trip to the medic, pick up a reusable water bottle, like this one from S’Well.

6 Sunscreen

Skin cancer is one of the most common forms of cancer and it’s totally preventable. Don’t forget to stick a bottle of sunscreen in your tote before you go. I recommend Aveeno’s Baby Sunblock, with SPF 55. Keep lathering up throughout the day and your skin will thank you.

7 Charging phone case

One thing I’ve learned the hard way at music festivals is that if you lose your friends, you probably won’t find them again. In a sea of cell phones there’s barely any service, you’re too busy snapping pictures and video of the acts, and you’re texting all your friends to make them jealous. Don’t let that happen to you and make sure you invest in a Mophie charging case for your phone. At $160 bucks a pop it isn’t cheap, but I guarantee you won’t regret it.

8 Makeup remover

After a long day in the sun, your makeup probably won’t look as fresh, and you’ll be itching to take it off. My skin is really sensitive so if I leave makeup on overnight, I get pimples right away. This Bobbi Brown eye makeup remover uses aloe vera to help wash off the makeup without irritating your skin.

 

 

Leave a Reply

