Joan Didion for Céline

Joan Didion for Céline

Don’t tell me I was the only one whose heart skipped a beat when the image of Joan Didion donning her signature shades for the Céline Spring/Summer 2015 ad campaign came to light. As a writer, I’ve always admired her literary work, and her ethos of minimalism. I’ll admit: I’m a hoarder. I have a terrible time trying to part with anything I own because I believe everything has its own significant value. One of my resolutions for 2015 is to realize less is more and this campaign is another sign of how living simply is never a bad idea. Phoebe Philo, Creative Director of Céline, drew influence for the Spring/Summer 2015 collection from the 70’s so it’s fitting that she would want to partner with someone like Didion who was a recognizable face in that period, and ever since. When you think of Céline, you picture an effortlessly cool girl. The same goes for Didion. Both the brand and the woman encompass the same value that it’s less about the clothes and more about the life you live in them.

It looks like it’s time for me to empty out my suitcase and start re-thinking my packing process (more on this later)! I doubt I’ll ever be able to travel as light as Didion herself (her famous packing list has been quoted so many times) but this campaign has made me re-evaluate the importance of ease and simplicity in all walks of life, starting with my wardrobe.

joan didion for céline{image via Vogue}

 

Leave a Reply

