When I Shop the World Gets Better

Does anyone recognize the book my title is quoted from? It’s one of my favourites, but I’ll let you think about it for a little while before I give away the answer. When I read the book for the first time and saw that line, it struck a chord with me. I have always seen shopping as a form of therapy and one that worked quite efficiently. Suffering from a broken heart? A new pair of shoes is a quick (and sometimes costly) fix. Bummed about your job? Go buy a new blouse to wear to work this week. School stressing you out? Find the comfiest sweats you can, buy them, and go home and lounge. See how easy it is to treat your problems with shopping?

I digress from the point of this post, which is to explain why I haven’t posted in the last week. If you’re following me on Twitter or Instagram, you may have seen that I spent the last week in Toronto with my dear friend Will. It was a marvellous vacation and exactly what I needed to re-invigaorate my creative side. We spent two days of the trip wandering throughout downtown, going in and out of shops, walking through Kensington Market, as I fell hopelessly in love with the city. It was a funny reminder of how love can happen so fast… yet this time, I was falling for an area code, not a man. I was speechless at the number of stores that were on Queen Street West alone and yet I could imagine spending the rest of my weekends and days off walking through every part of Toronto, searching for more places to get lost in.

Toronto has something for everyone and today I am sharing with you three stores I think you should check out if you live in the 416 or are going there to visit any time. These stores have a place in my heart and wallet and I look forward to going back and raiding them for even more amazing pieces for my closet and home.

Black Market
I have never been as happy and excited to be in a store as I was Black Market. A curated vintage and alternative clothing shop, nothing in the entire store costs over $10. It’s the craziest thing in the world and the most magical thing for a shopaholic to know. When we walked down the stairs into the store, it transports you to the 1990’s (or what I imagine they were like). The walls were scattered with printed t-shirts, oversized graphic crewnecks, denim everywhere, and lots of references to shows and artists that were a blast from the past. Having such reasonable prices means you can stock up on a ton of vintage and know you’re pulling off your very own unique sense of style. My favourite part of all? The pins. I’m a sucker for pins and Black Market has a wide selection, yet my favourites had to be Adventure Time and Archer characters.

Visit Black Market at 256a Queen Street West Toronto

blackmarket3 black market1 blackmarket2

Public Butter
Toronto has such an amazing presence when it comes to vintage shopping. Where I come from, we have one Goodwill, and I have never seen so many amazing thrift finds there as I did during my stay in Toronto. Public Butter was a store that Kami recommended we go to and she is someone whose style I love, so I trust her taste in clothing stores. Public Butter was an absolute dream to visit because it’s vintage was curated so perfectly, each rack made me  feel like I was Diana Vreeland putting together a photo shoot with Richard Avedon and Veruschka. The way they had their letterman jackets, fancy furs, gowns, and so much more were exquisitely showcased so you could really see what they had to offer in each varying style.

Visit Public Butter at 1290 Queen Street West of Dufferin

publicbutter1 Screen Shot 2014-10-27 at 3.04.15 PM{image via Public Butter, Public Butter Instagram}

Outer Layer
If you don’t know this about me, I am obsessed with stationery and paper goods. I don’t know what it is, but I love being able to disconnect from my phone and laptop, and write in my notebook. Outer Layer caters all of your stationery needs, from boxed letters to Moleskine leather bound journals. The store also carries skin and bath goods from brands like Burt’s Bees, Rocky Mountain, and Soaptopia, perfume, candles, jewellery, and more. It’s a hole in one if you want to buy someone a gift, get their card, and the bag all in one shop.

Visit Outer Layer at 577 Queen Street West

outerlayer1 outerlayer2 outerlayer3

Ed. Note: The answer to my title caption is Confessions of a Shopaholic!

Leave a Reply

