The Grand Pizzeria & Bar

The Grand Pizzeria & Bar

I am a self proclaimed foodie. Honestly, other than fashion, food is one of my major passions in life. You know how some people ask the question “if you weren’t a ___, what would you do?” My answer would be a chef. Although I plan on sticking with a future in fashion, food has always been something I’ve been interested in. Beyond the taste of different cuisine, there is a lot of history behind ingredients, cooking techniques, and restauranteurs and the chefs, waiters and waitresses, servers, etc who they employ. Based on this, I have decided to add a new category to Lost in Reverie. My goal is to share some restaurants I believe you would all enjoy, recipes for delicious meals and treats, and other information about food. If you have any post suggestions within this realm, please let me know in the comments.

First on the docket is a review of one of my favourite restaurants in the ByWard Market, The Grand Pizzeria & Bar. Opened on May 1, 2009 in the same location as the historic ‘The Grand’ hotel, the building was given new life. With 150 seats inside, in the summer the patio gives more room and can seat up to 170 people, making it the largest seating in Ottawa. Mixing old traditions with modern decor, this Italian restaurant has a wood burning oven giving every pizza that crisp taste that makes it perfect.

header_logo{The Grand Pizzeria & Bar logo}

The special thing about The Grand Pizzeria & Bar is that it’s more than a restaurant, it’s an experience. I have only been there a handful of times but I feel like I leave my every day life behind and enter a more sophisticated atmosphere. The service is impeccable and immediately when you walk in the doors, the up scale environment gives you a good feeling right off the bat. The array of dishes are in Italian but the descriptions are mouth watering and the list of pizza’s are a dream come true.

photo
{outside of the restaurant}

I went this past Saturday with my friend Zach and it cemented why I love this restaurant so much. Soon as we entered, we were seated immediately in a window seat with a view of the patio and market. Although the weather wasn’t the best, our server’s cheery disposition made us both feel like we chose the right place to eat. He ordered The Grand pizza which came with mozzarella, scamorza, fresh basil, and prosciutto and I ordered the Angus Cheeseburger which was an 8.oz patty topped with white cheddar cheese, tomatoes, and lettuce. The food arrived quickly after we ordered but the quality was out of this world. Zach’s pizza was a great size for the price and looked amazing, and he deemed that it tasted as good as it looked. After I had ordered, I was second guessing getting a cheeseburger at an Italian restaurant but I was not disappointed. The burger was so big it needed a toothpick to hold it together and after the very first bite, I was sold. The fries were a tasty side and overall it was a wonderful meal.

I would definitely recommend The Grand Pizzeria & Bar to anyone who lives in Ottawa or is making a trip to the city and is visiting downtown. The price is right and not only do you get to have a terrific meal, you get to experience a taste of Ottawa’s history.

photo2 photo3{interior shots of the restaurant}

The Grand Pizzeria & Bar is located at 74 George Street and is open everyday from 11:00AM to 2:00AM.

2 thoughts on “The Grand Pizzeria & Bar

Leave a Reply

