Wall Piece with 200 Letters

Lately, I’ve become increasingly interested in word art. Tracey Emin, Jenny Holzer, and Barbara Kruger are a few of the artists who caught my eye using their different mediums but including the wonderful world of typography. When I was perusing Tumblr a few weeks ago, a photo of a Wall Piece came onto my dashboard. I was interested in the image and wanted to see more but no one linked to the artist so I was at a loss. Yesterday, I found a different image which was done in the same style and it was credited to Mikko Kuorinki.

(image via Tumblr)
 
I tried to find more information on the artist but there isn’t a lot about him online. Luckily, I was able to find the original link to the Wall Piece exhibition. On his website there is a statement about the collection:
From March 2010 to February 2011 I formed one new text on the wall of Klasma museum every week.
I think Kuorinki’s work is another example of how intimate words are and that by jumbling them around, they can mean so many different things. I’m going to share a few more of my favourites below and if you’re interested in the exhibition, you can find all the images here.
Leave a Reply

