Seeing Double

seeing double

Seeing Double

Since I was in the sixth grade, I’ve been wearing prescription glasses. When I had my first optometrist appointment and found out I would have to wear them, I was less than happy, to say the least. In my mind, cool girls didn’t need glasses. Thinking back to my first pair (boxy and red) and the new pair of Ray-Bans sitting comfortably on my nose now, I can say that my view of optical frames has changed completely. Who knew glasses would become the permanent staple of my uniform? Besides obvious reasons (aka being able to see), glasses have given me the opportunity to share even more of my unique identity. When I went to my new optometrist and picked out my Ray-Ban wayfarers, I knew that it was the first step in my own personal re-invention project. Just like clothes and other accessories, glasses have their own it factor that makes them special.
Feeling inspired by my new purchase, I thought I would share some of my favourite optical frames. Featuring three popular styles: wayfarer; cat eye; and tortoiseshell; these frames all have the ability to give your look that extra pop, and let you see the beautiful world around you.
Wayfarer (Ray-Ban, Prada, Stella McCartney)
I’ll admit, I’m a bit biased seeing as my first choice for my new glasses were the new Ray-Bans collection that came into Laurier Optical. I’ve always loved wayfarers and even have a pair of wayfarer sunnies but I worried that I didn’t have the right face for them. As I constantly tell my friends (who repeat it back to me at times like this): no matter what you wear, you will look amazing as long as you’re confident. I kept that mantra in mind when picking out frames and I couldn’t be happier. I love the light blush pink of the Stella frames but black is a classic and looks great on everyone.
Cat Eye (Miu Miu, Miu Miu, Prada)
Miuccia Prada and her team at Miu Miu and Prada are the creme du la creme of cat eye frames. While perusing pages of the style, I found so many I liked and the majority came from the two sister brands. Cat eye frames are more feminine and I love the embellishments on the top and bottom pairs because they give them that extra bit of pizazz. 
Tortoiseshell (Dior, Stella McCartney, Alexander McQueen)
Last but certainly not least, tortoiseshell glasses. I personally can’t see myself wearing this trend but it is a classic and is not going anywhere. When I see tortoiseshell frames, I immediately think of that “Hey Girl” Ryan Gosling meme where he’s wearing a pair. Celebrities love them and I see why. Stella McCartney’s interpretation (middle) are very in your face, but if you’re looking for something more minimal, the McQueen frames would work nicely on anyone.
I hope I’ve been able to inspire you for your next eye glasses shopping trip! Comment below what your favourite style of optical frames are, xo
One thought on “Seeing Double

Leave a Reply

