Royal Blue

royal blue

royal blue by j-bilmer 

Have you ever seen the movie Breakfast at Tiffany’s? In the movie, Holly Golightly (played by the ever enchanting Audrey Hepburn) talks about the difference between the blues and the mean reds:
You know the days when you get the mean reds?”
The mean reds. You mean like the blues?”
No. The blues are because you’re getting fat, and maybe it’s been raining too long. You’re just sad, that’s all. The mean reds are horrible. Suddenly you’re afraid, and you don’t know what you’re afraid of. Do you ever get that feeling?”

Oh Holly, I know that feeling all too well. Coming off of a not so pleasant week, I decided that in order to start this week on the right foot, I had to look past the mean reds and go forward believing that this week would be better. And what better way to cheer myself up than some online shopping? After perusing the newest arrivals at Zara, Urban Outfitters, and Sephora; I decided I wanted to write a new blog post as well. Taking inspiration of one of my favourite movie heroines (Ms. Golightly), I put together this collage of items to give new meaning to the blues.
Royal blue has been one of my favourite colours for quite some time now. I love how elegant it looks,  from this beautiful Michael Kors coat to the caged perfection that is the Manolo heels pictured above.  The suede Proenza Schouler PS1, alligator Oscar de la Renta belt, and The Row sunnies would be the perfect pops of colour against an all white outfit. If you’re not feeling like dressing up, this Acne sweater looks like a cozy dream, and to make yourself feel fancy just spritz some Hiris perfume by Hermès. 
Tell me, how do you overcome the blues?

Leave a Reply

