A Fresh Start

A Fresh Start

The beginning of a new month always puts my brain into overdrive, thinking of all the resolutions I want to keep. You know how it goes.. “I’ll start my diet tomorrow” or “I’m never drinking again” quickly gets put on the back burner when an invitation to a new restaurant comes up, or a friend calls you saying they’re bringing over a bottle of vodka. It’s quite easy to brush these resolutions off without giving them a passing glance. One resolution I am determined to keep is to write every day. Not on this blog or OhWowYouWoreThat necessarily, but in my journal or anywhere else. I am a firm believer that in order to produce great creative work, you must continuously strive to be creative and be inspired. Over the last few months I have been dealing with personal events that have kept me from finding inspiration and motivation to work on my creative ventures. Although I haven’t been writing or taking photographs as much, being an observer has opened up my eyes in an all new way.
Many of my close friends are in university or college. Fortunately for some, they love their program and have found the one thing they want to pursue for their entire lives. Yet others are studying a program they hate and it burns me to the bone know this. In a world like ours, where the world is your oyster, why get locked into a program then career you aren’t passionate about? Has money replaced the dire need (ed. note: I say dire need, as for myself, I believe it is life or death) to pursue happiness? I almost fell into believing this, until I realized that I needed to look at the bigger picture. In order to find purpose in my life, I had to say yes to change and it has been the scariest but also most rewarding decision I’ve made in the last year. Jumping headfirst into the unknown isn’t easy for anyone but it has made me realize who and what I need to make the most of my life. So, being cliché, I have decided to start my creative resolution today. This is something that I should have been implementing daily for years now, but I believe that it takes one big push to jumpstart a series of events. 
April, be kind. Help me prove to myself that I can start on a clean slate, and write the most beautiful story of all.
Leave a Reply

